Right now I can’t stop thinking about value. True, genuine value. The kind that gets talked about, and not because some advertising executive hoped you might. I have a column coming out in Marketing Magazine shortly that discusses this, but I feel like the notion itself is something so big that it completely changes the game (whatever game it is you might play).

I’m a big fan of Aramis’ Lab Series (and I receive no end of nonsense from my male friends about this). they are genuinely great products but the product design is inherently flawed

Take the below photo for example.

One of these things is not like the other

Sitting on my laptop are two identical tubes, though one has had the life squeezed out of it. The face wash is not cheap, and doesn’t last a hell of a long time, so I’d expect the product design to assist me in getting the most out of it. What you get instead though is somewhere in the vicinity of 20 showers where you can, with a little effort, squeeze plenty more out of the tube.

This has to be an MBA at work, because it sure as hell isn’t a real designer. It was such an effort to get value – and not extra value, just the value I had paid for – out of this tube. And as marketers we do this so often, we sucker people into our offerings and then try to get away on the cheap. Why? And for what? You get my attention with an ad for music I like, then deliver me other artists on your label I have no interest in. I sign up to your newsletter only to hear about products from your parent company. I buy your over-priced facewash, put up with shit from my football-playing mates, only to get screwed by the people who are supposed to be on my side.

Why aren’t we spending more time thinking about what value means to our consumers and then giving them that? Quarterly profits? Really? At some point, somebody has to say “Enough is enough.”
The big news there is if companies don’t, then the audience they once had will.

